Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Emmanuel College Lions

Men's Wresting Win Nationals For Second Straight Year

Men's Wresting Win Nationals For Second Straight Year


"ALLEN, Texas –Emmanuel College, led by three individual champions, won NCWA Nationals for the second straight year, finishing ahead of second place Liberty by 78 points. The NWCA was celebrating its 20th anniversary this year.

Winning national titles for the second straight year for Emmanuel were Cody Chaney at 184 pounds and Maveric Rechsteiner at 197 pounds, both who flashed two fingers to the crowd after their victories.

Both scored the only takedowns in their matches. Chaney shut out George Vanvalen of Alfred State, 4-0 in their finals bout. Rechsteinter beat Kyler Slade of the Ohio State WC, 4-2 for his gold-medal win.

The other Lions champion was top-seeded Jeremiah Lutz at 149, who was third in last year's NCWA Nationals at 157. Lutz pinned Ryan Kemmerer of Temple in 1:08 of their finals.

Emmanuel did lose a match in the finals, when returning champion Darius Bunch was beaten in the finals at 133 pounds, by Justus Griffith of (Central Florida in overtime on tiebreaker two.

Liberty had one individual champion, Josh Ferenczy, who beat Clay Kocsis of Penn State - Mont Alto, 6-2 in the finals at 174 pounds. Ferenczy was a runner-up in last year's NCWA Nationals. Liberty had excellent depth, with eight All-Americans.

Rounding out the top five teams in the standings were Central Florida in third with 141 points, Grand Valley State in fourth with 137.5 points and Air Force Prep in fifth with 100.5 points.

Air Force Prep had three individual champions. Anthony Decesare (125), Parker Simington (157) and Jacoby Ward (165). Decesare defeated 2016 NCWA runner-up Timothy Sakow of Central Florida, 5-2. Simington edged Florida's Beau Doerr, 4-3. Ward controlled Bailey Carlson of Brigham Young 8-1 in their final.

Winning the title at 235 pounds, after placing second last year, was Stevan Webb of UConn, who defeated Harun Bogdanic of Grand Valley State, 7-5.

Other individual men's champions were Brent Waterman of Maine at 141 pounds and Rickey Carter of Florida A&M at 285 pounds.

Defending its women's team title was Southwest Oregon CC, which score 97.5 points ahead of runner-up Ottawa with 69.5 points.

Repeating as individual champions for Southwest Oregon CC were Carly Jaramillo at 143 pounds and Tatum Sparks of Southwestern Oregon at 155 pounds. Both scored pins in the finals, with Jaramillo stopping Michelle Duong of Florida in 1:17 and Sparks putting away Tianna Roy of Springfield Tech in 1:21.

Other individual champions for Southwest Oregon CC were Fayth Woodward (116) and Ebony Ayers (191).

Two other 2016 NCWA women's champions repeated as champions, Samantha Frank of Maine at 101 and Marina Goocher of Michigan-Dearborn at 136.

Rounding out the top five among the women were third-place North Texas with 32 points, fourth-place Richland with 26 points and fifth-place Maine with 18 points."


125: Dylan Carlile- 6th place

133: Darius Bunch- 2nd place

141: Hunter Quinn- 3-2 (Did not place)

149: Jeremiah Lutz- 1st place (most outstanding wrestler award)

157: Jay Sheppard- 3rd place

165: JA Jones- 3rd place

174: Dylan Gouine- 2-2 (Did not place)

184: Cody Chaney- 1st

197: Maveric Rechsteiner- 1st

235: Zak Pitt- 3rd place

285: Kenny Mason- 7th place

For more information on the Lions, please visit