Petty and Parks Named to All-Conference Second Team

Petty and Parks Named to All-Conference Second Team

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Lees-McRae College's Kara Cunningham has been named the 2019 Conference Carolinas Player of the Year, while Erskine College's Hannah Houge earned the Conference Carolinas Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Lydia Clanton of Southern Wesleyan University nabbed Freshman of the Year honors, while Erskine College's Alleen Hawkins repeated as the Coach of the Year, the Conference announced today.

New to the Conference Carolinas postseason award offering is the Elite 23 Award. The Elite 23 Award is modeled after the NCAA's Elite 90 Award, which is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at their respective championship site. The inaugural winner for softball is Southern Wesleyan's Kali Berrigan.

Cunningham, a senior from Indian Trail, N.C., led the Bobcats in runs scored (26), hits (42), doubles (13), batting average (.420) and on-base percentage (.450). In addition to the work offensively, Cunningham was also the team's top pitcher leading the staff in appearances (22), starts (16), wins (10), saves (2), complete games (14), innings pitched (125), strikeouts (130) and ERA (2.07).

Houge, a sophomore from Boiling Springs, S.C., was named Pitcher of the Year after turning in a dominating season in the circle for Erskine. Houge finished the season 16-5 and 9-1 in conference action with her 1.10 ERA currently ranking 10th in the country, while she is fourth in the country in shutouts with 10.

Clanton, a freshman from Waynesboro, Miss., led the Warriors with a .406 batting average and .740 slugging percentage this season. Over 123 plate appearances, Clanton recorded 39 hits including 10 doubles, two triples and six home runs with 33 RBIs.

Hawkins was named Coach of the Year after the Flying Fleet won the program's first regular season conference championship. Erskine finished the regular season with a school record 33 wins. Hawkins rode a pitching staff that leads the conference in ERA (1.56), shutouts (18), and batting average against (.183). The Fleet offense leads the conference in home runs (30), and is third in triples (7), third in extra base hits (90), and fourth in total bases (449). 

Berrigan, a junior exercise science major from Goose Creek, S.C., sports a cumulative 4.0 GPA. Berrigan batted .214 with 18 hits, eight RBI and 16 runs scored.


All-Conference Carolinas First Team

1B - Payton Whitley, Belmont Abbey

2B - Lydia Clanton, Southern Wesleyan

3B - Shi Cain, Erskine

SS - Brooklyn Stone, North Greenville

DP - Emily Merriam, Lees-McRae

UTL - Megan New, Southern Wesleyan

C - Taylor Koon, North Greenville

C - Claire Doyle, Belmont Abbey

OF - Reagan Davis, Erskine

OF - Kat Tate, Limestone

OF - Charlene Thompson, Mount Olive

P - Hannah Houge, Erskine

P - Jaelin Griffin, North Greenville

P - Casey Gilbert, King 

All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

1B - Kay Brokering, King

2B - Ashley Parnell, Limestone

3B - Faith Cooke, Lees-McRae

SS - Vic Brewington, Limestone

DP - Megan Bryant, Mount Olive

UTL - Noelle Petty, Emmanuel 

C - Caitlin Parks, Emmanuel

C - Katelyn Davidson, King

OF - Heather Childress, Mount Olive

OF - Lindsey Mason, Limestone

OF - Addie Nugent, Southern Wesleyan

P - Callie Richards, North Greenville

P - Morgan Hendrix, Erskine

P - Kara Cunningham, Lees-McRae


Player of the Year

Kara Cunningham, Lees-McRae

Pitcher of the Year

Hannah Houge, Erskine

Freshman of the Year

Lydia Clanton, Southern Wesleyan

Coach of the Year

Alleen Hawkins, Erskine

Elite 23 Award

Kali Berrigan, Southern Wesleyan

Regular Season Softball Champion

Erskine College